Salt in my coffee…

A while back while browsing Pinterest, I ended up coming across some website, about something about coffee, about something that coffee is good for, about something to add to coffee, about salt in coffee and it being quite delightful.

Well, I don’t know exactly where I started with that pin, but I ended up quite intrigued.

My great uncle passed not too long ago. He was a very sweet soul. My dad called him Uncle Clunk Clunk, because he had a car that would make that noise, so of course that was his nick name and how I knew him growing up. My dad had  a lot of names for him, “My Rich Uncle”, “Slick”, “Uncle Slickers”…. I am sure there is more, but it’s 6 am and I just had one cup of coffee.

While at the luncheon after Uncle Clunks funeral, I mentioned this “salt in coffee” to my aunt, uncle, dad and cousins. They all looked at me strangely, except my uncle that is. In fact he said, “You know what? I remember my mom and dad putting a raw egg in with the coffee grounds with a sprinkle of salt”. Of course he had no idea what it was for and why they did that. We pondered over the idea…. maybe they did that to kill two birds with one stone? They liked poached eggs? Maybe, they just liked the taste of egg in their coffee??

Now even more intrigued.

It took me a few days to even remember to Google, “Raw Egg in Coffee Grounds”. After I remembered to do so, I was surprised to what my research led me to… I found this to be interesting, “The idea is that the egg clarifies the coffee, creating a perfect separation between the grounds and the water used to extract them.”  You can find out more here.

I was super excited, but I have yet to try this. Maybe one day I’ll get adventurous and do it. Until then, I like my eggs based with water or scrambled. However, I did try the salt in the coffee grounds this morning and found it to really be quite delightful! It took that bitterness flavor away (another trick is to add cinnamon instead of salt).

If you have any other suggestions for improving the taste of coffee, please feel free to comment below:

Leave a Reply

